Hasegawa F-15C "173rd Wing King"

Alright, since my first build went FUBAR on me, because of...well..me?

Here we go on a second try!

Pics will follow a bit later, right now I'm just getting started on modifing the cockpit. The Hasegawa cockpit, like all current model kits, represents a non MSIP aircraft. Thus, it still shows the armament panel instead of the MPCD. This will be scratch built by using some sheet styrene. This build will be significantly slower and more detailed than even it's previous incarnation was. I'll hopefully be able to point out the shortcomings I have learned in the Hasegawa kit, and how to fix them. It will be illustrated, however not overwhelmingly so.

Update: 2-3-07

Worked on the forward fuse today. Went together just as well as the last one, and most if not all of the panel detail was able to be saved. After assembly, the seams were sanded down and smoothed out. A light wash of warm water and detergent was used to clean the plastic of any oils and release agents. Tamiya smooth primer in grey was applied. Thank god I learned the pitfalls of this kit on the previous build! No updates were done yet. The under-fuse antennas will be modified later, after major construction and painting is done, as they will be fragile.

100_0415.jpg

Update-2-5-07: FrankenEagle

Well, last night was very entertaining. Having done work on the forward fuselage the day before, it was time for more primary construction. Having weighted the model to prevent tail-sitting, I began to attach the forward fuselage and the lower half of the main. .....Well, this model wasnt quite as easy as the last one. After adding a spacer and working on the fuselage join, I looked to the tails and saw a horror..a HORROR. The glue used to join the fuselage halves had run to the right tail boom and completely melted out the tip.