Hello all, I finally had a chance to make some progress on this one. Just a quick disclaimer, this is my first time posting any modeling work. My apologies in advance for the photo quality and whatever else looks or sounds funny :) Anyway, This is the 1/48 Eduard La-7 weekend edition with Eduard and Part PE sets, a Goffy resin engine, Tally Ho wheels and aftermarket decals. .

Here I have the Eduard PE flap wells in place:

la7flaps014.jpg

This is my first time making extensive use of PE, I was always pretty intimidated by the idea but I gotta say that so far I've had fun with it. Go figure.

The Goffy Models Ash-82 engine is a nice little kit, it comes complete with all of the intake tubes and exhaust pipes for one side. The casting quality is decent, and the picture really doesn't do justice to the level of detail. My instructions were of such poor copy clarity that I couldn't figure the exhaust placement. No big deal for my purposes. The very few good photo references I could find for WWII VVS radial engines seemed to indicate the cylinders were painted black for some reason, so I went a bit heavy with the wash.

la7flaps006.jpg

The pushrod tubes were added with styrene. I will be modeling the front cowl cooling vanes/flaps in the open position for a change of pace. I didn't bother with plug wires as only a tiny bit of the engine will be visible.

The cockpit sides are more or less done, a mix of the Eduard and Part PE was used. The Part PE set really is of very good quality, a bit hard to find though. I wasn't able to pony up the cash for the WEM VVS paints, so I did my best to come sorta close to ALG-5 for the cockpit.

la7flaps016.jpg

I used the color PE parts from the Eduard set for the panel, but my camera has no chance of getting a good picture of that. Hopefully I can find a friend that has a better camera!