Gents,

I just read the (closed) thread about the 787 beaing a death rattle and things about Dan Rather.

Now, i have no idea who Dan Rather is, but I do know a lfew things about composites that I would like to mention as I thought they needed to be said in regard to the article. I am a structure technology engineer at the Dutch National Aerospace Laboratoy (NLR) and designing, producing and testing composites structures is what I do for a living.

I wanted to chime in and say that there really is some truth to the story, biased or not. Carbon Fiber Reinforced Plastics ((CFRPs) just one general composite material type)) are very vulnerable to impact damage (birds, FOD e.g. runway debree, aircraft smashing large hard objects such as the earth). Carbon composites shatter in countless pieces once broken and do not plastically defrom as they are indeed brittle. Though just how brittle they are widely depends of what kind of thermoset or thermoplastic polymers are used. Sames goes for toxic fumes. It depends on the used matrix. But I can tell you that there are a lot more and worse material used that do not smell nice when they are burned.