resin casting and pressure pots

I've started molding and casting my own parts. It's worked pretty well except for fine detail items like antennas, etc. I'm getting tiny airbubbles trapped inside the mold and can't get them out. I've tried tapping the mold, and running a wire down to try and "stir" the bubble out, but I can't get them all. I had thought about using a pressure pot to pressure cast the parts, but I have no idea if this would solve my problem or how to do it.

Any help?

thanks,

Mike

I've had that happen before, some resin creates it's own bubbles (chemical reaction). After I started using a pressure pot the bubbles went away. The pressure pot forces the resin into spaces and compresses the resin and keeps the bubbles from forming.

You can get a Pressure Pot Here:

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/disp...temnumber=93119

Thanks! That's the exact one I was going to get. We have a HF here in town. I've never used one before, any pointers? I've got a 2 HP compressor w/ tank, will that be enough?

Here's a pic of my casting pot set up (from Harbor Freight).

1 = gas ball valve x2 (left side is air inlet, other valve is air release valve)

2 = end cap attached to blank off outlet for air tools

Thanks to Harold (AMS Resins) for getting me going on my casting again, LOL.

CastingPot.jpg

Edited by PlasticWeapons

longmc:

Your compressor is fine, I'm using a 1 1/2 HP compressor with a small tank. Recommend pressure is 40 PSI.

Make sure you print the coupon for the pressure pot, take it with you to Harbor Freight, the regular price is $119.00 in store.

Here is my setup:

PressurePotVacuumW-Tags.jpg

I didn't use the valves, I eliminated the pressure gage and went direct into the pot with a quick disconnect. I use the compressors gage for the pressure setting. The pressure relief valve has the round ring.

The blue thing in the picture is a vacuum run by compressed air, I use it to remove air from my molds. I was also purchased at Harbor Freight.