'Silent' Compressors

Hi All,

Currently I'm using a piston type compressor with a 1 gallon tank. It's fairly noisy when running and since my shop is in a confined place, it gets more than a bit annoying. Due to this I've decided to go the silent compressor route and am leaning towards the Silentaire Super Silent ECO Air 20 or the Super Silent 20-A.

Does anyone here have any experience with Silentaire compressors or silent compressors in general who could recommend one of the above or maybe one from a different manufacturer?

I have been using a 'silent' compressor for about 10 years - mine is branded as a Badger, but it is one of the SilentAire types. I have been very happy with mine, even sitting right beside it, I am hardly aware of it cycling on/off. Pricey, but worthwhile if noise is an issue.

I, like you, used to use a one gallon compressor. I had to build a "silent box" so I could use it in my temporary aparment. When I was deployed, I bought a basic compressor from Harbor Freight; only $70. It was quiet and worked like a charm. If you add a braided hose to their rubber hose, it acts like a compressor tank and their is no sputtering. I liked it so much, I bought one for here.

I purchased a slientair about 6 months ago. I LOVE IT. The thing is so darn quiet and works just fine. It was totally worth the money.

Hi Todd,

What model of Silentaire did you purchase?

I originally wanted one of these, but went with a 20# CO2 tank and I love it. I have sprayed approximately three 1/48 scale models with it and I still haven't had to fill it yet.

Filling one only costs me $15. The initial investment in the tank and regulator is a little less than a good quality silent compressor.

In the long run it is more expensive than a compressor, I guess, but it will never break and nothing is more silent....all you hear is the air coming out the end of your airbrush.