Hi all,

Here is what I have done so far. Comming along VERY slowly :cheers:

I have started with constructing the weapons bay. The tunnel covers are milli-put to simulate the cloth covers, with copper wire for the laces. The rest is scratch built from plasticard.

IMG_1913.jpg

Here's what the real thing looks like...

post-2388-1135354248.jpg

Edited by nimrod77

Great start - will be watching this build closely!

Phew, just spent the evening rebuilding a tiny part of the instument panel on my Blackbox cockpit so I understand your comment about coming along very slowly!

Great start. I was hoping some one would have a go at the bomb bay. I couldn't even find a decent picture and with the weapons bay holding the wing mechanism it causes a lot of additional work on the Academy kit.

Good to see how it turns out.

Colin W

• 3 weeks later...

Thanks everyone for the kind words. I am still learning to scratch build..... trial and error.

I have a little update for you all. I have just returned from a 3 week stint in sunny Tindal, and managed to smuggle a little modeling gear with me.

I have finished the Nose Wheel Well apart from the little details, and made a good start on the Main Wheel Well. I am planning on building all these sub-assy's before adding them to my final build.

Here's my Nose wheel well next to a pic of the real deal.

IMG_2235.jpgF-111CNWW.jpg

The dimensions in LxBxH were taken from the kit supplied part, I decided the best course of action was to build a new one from scratch as the Academy pieces have spurious details on them and has a stepped back. This step in the kit pieces is to bring the kit nose gear to the "correct" position when fitted. This step does not exist on the real thing. What should be there is the Crew module rocket motor and, in this jets case, the Forward equipment bay's fire extinguisher.

Here's Academy's attempt..

IMG_2238.jpg