Real good thread on Nats judging over on HS

My D.520 didn't win anything.

I got home and unpacked it, set it on the mirror and decided to see if I could find any problems.

One of my gear struts wasn't glued in tight and had shifted :thumbsup:

I didn't notice when I had set it on the contest table.

It would have been a very simple fix :doh:

There were other nice models in its' category but I think I would have stood a pretty good chance if not for that strut...

Oh well, I had fun regardless!

As for Nats judging...

I've been doing the IPMS thing for almost 30 years now.

I've judged lots of contests though never at the Nats.

I completely understand the rules and judging criteria and why it would be difficult to change things, but I personally wish that other factors were taken into consideration including complexity of paint and construction, presentation and the 'wow factor' or overall appeal of a model.

I've beaten some incredible models that had a few minor flaws and honestly I didn't feel good about it...

:doh: