windows, filled or not?

fill the windows or not  

54 members have voted

1. 1. do you fill the windows?

• yes
    • no
    • other

On 1/144 or smaller models with modern type small cabin windows, I fill them. I've never seen a method of leaving them clear that looked accurate to my eye. On bigger models (such as a 1/72 DC-6 for instance) I tend to leave them clear.

But it's purely a matter of personal choice.

J

I am a 1/144 builder and I usually left them clear.

In my opinion, they look better and more realistic than windows decals.

But as Jennings said, is personal choice.

Edited by Fischer

It really depends on the model.

On my Il-96M, the windows were very poor, so I had to fill them in. With the A380, there are so many that decals might be easier. On the RJ85, however, they are open (mostly due to the fact that I built it nearly 10 years ago).

A layer fo cellophane tape is then used to cover the windows from the outside and pushed down to seal very well. I think poor a clear two-part resin in from the outside and let it cure

Hi, ESzczesniak,

just to be sure I have right understood:

you lay down the tape outside the fuselage and then you pour the resin from inside, I guess. And this is done before gluing the halves together, isn't it?

What confidence have you that the "die cutter" has the proper shape and size? And how do you line up all masks in the proper position?

Could you post some photos of the final result? I'm very interested in this technique for a future project. Thanks.

Regards

Euge

You're right, ESzcesniak; nothing wrong with a lot of work!

It seems on any other type model kit, especially WWII aircraft and various armor subjects, regardless of scale, ultra interior detailing is almost expected, but when it comes to Airliners, sadly, the loudest voices promote bypassing detail opportunity by decaling over the transparencies? That's okay though, there must exist avenues for all skill levels.

Take care,

Frank

Edited by oldHooker