I think I have read enough reviews and threads on the ICM MiG-25,now I'm ready to start my first build ever!

As a total beginner,this build will be aimed at learning more than modeling itself,that's why I will share it with you here,C&C are welcome:

IMG_5763.jpg

The box contains 99 pieces,with simple but clear instructions,along with Russian/Libyan and Ukrainian decals that I will not use as I will make the Algerian version.That means homemade decals <_< (another thing to try).On the following pic you can see how well are the lines made,and even though this is my first box,I think ICM did a good job on this side:

IMG_5766.jpg

And here is my target,Serial FU-75 of the 110th fighter squadron of Ain Oussera/Algeria.This one was upgraded at the Ukrainian MiGRemont plant in 1999,a nice piece of engineering:

0000024610large.jpg

I have already started cutting/sanding some small parts,just to visualize the assembly.

Edited by dawestsides

Thanks all for the kind words!

First small steps:

I did the wings,the missiles,the wheels and half of the fuselage

IMG_5991.jpg

I got a small question on the Foxbat payload,the standard being 2 x R40T et 2 x R40R (included in the box).

But ICM added 4 x R-60,I searched a lot but I haven't found so far a pic of a MiG-25 with this type of missile...

I'm using the excellent Yefim Gordon's "MiG-25 Foxbat: Russia's defensive front line" as reference and it does mention that the R-60 capability had been added after the PD/PDS upgrade (in replacement of 2 x R-40s,but again no picture.

Another thing,it looks like the R-40 dimensions are wrong:

- The R-40T (IR homing) with the sharp head is supposed to be slightly longer than the R-40R (radar homing) with the rounded head,but in the below pic you can see that it's not the case:

IMG_5994.jpg

I have only one document with the dimensions of both types,maybe it's wrong too...but I can easily solve this issue

If someone can bring up other sources...

Otherwise I will skip the R-60s.