Monogram 1:48 Su-25 Frogfoot + TwoMikes resin

Now that the HobbyBoss A-10 is finished, I am starting the Monogram 1:48 Su-25 Frogfoot. This build is for TwoMikes to display at their booth at the IPMS National Convention in Pheonix, AZ. I am building it OOB to show their resin intake/exhaust covers and their resin rocket pods.

Here's the start:

100_2081.jpg

100_2082.jpg

100_2083.jpg

100_2084.jpg

100_2085.jpg

More later...

Got started on the build. Took some time to glue the major sub-assemblies (i.e., weapons, gas bags, wing halves, etc) together and sand some joins lines.

Then I commenced working on the cockpit. I have never built a Russian plan before and know they use a shade of light blue for the cockpit. Without any special call outs in the Monogram instructions, I went with Tamiya Light Blue (XF-23) for tw reasons: 1) it's what I had on hand and , 2) it looked close enough to my eye as the correct color.

100_2124.jpg

100_2129.jpg

I sprayed a coat of flat black and then applied the Light blue over that. I then picked out the detail on the IP and cockpit sidewalls. That was followed by a wash of heavily thinnned Tamiya Smoke. Then a drop of Future on the IP dials and the cockpit was ready to install.

100_2130.jpg

100_2134.jpg

100_2131.jpg

I applied the same Light blue over black treatment of the wheel wells (although once built, not much of the detail will be seen), I picked out the hydraulic lines in black.

100_2141.jpg

Stay tuned . . . .

More progress to report:

Wings attached. I was quite pleased with the top and bottom joins of both wings. I used no filler and will only have to do some minor sanding to blend the seam line into the fuselage top and bottom.

100_2142.jpg