In the early 1950s I worked as an apprentice mechanic at the Windsor Flying Club and two of our fleet were Dehavilland Canada Chipmunks. A delightful aircraft to fly but a nightmare to maintain. One of those was CF-CXE and there were many times when I skinned my knuckles on the darned thing.

Fast forward to 1980 and CF-CXE was in the hands of George Spence of Burnaby, BC and operating out of Langley, BC. One afternoon while having lunch at Delta Airpark, George and his wife Elenor were wanting to return to Langley but CXE would not start so George, knowing of my relationship with the beast asked me if I would have a talk to her..CXE..not his wife!. I had many attempts at starting that ^%$#*&5 Gipsey in the past and after a bit of verbal abuse, I gave George the thumbs up and CXE started after two blades...she must have recalled some of our discussions from the past!

In 2002 I got to Fly CXE again after 50 years and while going through my stash of kits, I came across an Aeroclub 1/48 scale limited run injected kit of a Chipmunk T-10 which I will now try to build as a DHC-1 as operated by the Royal Canadian Flying Clubs Association member organization such as WFC.

DHC-1Chipmunk001.jpg

There are few pieces of plastic and a few bits of white metal and a vacuform canopy. The anti-spin strakes on the rear of the fuselage are removed

DHC-1Chipmunk003.jpg

I glued the wing halves together then added a centre control "tunnel" which was not present in the kit. The seats are pretty basic but close enough

DHC-1Chipmunk004.jpg

I tossed the white metal gear legs and soldered up a new set to reflect the CDN type. The torque links will be added later.

DHC-1Chipmunk005.jpg

The horizontal stab was modified by adding pieces of .015" plastic to the centre section to fill the horrible gap.

More later and wait for the finish...it will be different!

Barney

Edited by Barneydhc82
  • 2 weeks later...