Computers - Love/Hate Relationship

I have this test generator program on my computer for my Earth and Space science classes. I have been using it for the past three years. Works great. No problems. Until today. I recently downloaded PKZIP software to unpack another application. Today, when I went to run my test generator program, the PK software jumped on it and is trying to treat it like a file that needs to be unzipped. I did not associate PKZIP with the program files. Anyone have any idea what is going on here? I don't know what the original file extensions were, but I deleted PKZIP and tried to get my program running again. However, now my computer is telling me that it needs to know what software to run to open up the program. I am running Win7 on a VAIO.

VERY frustrating as it looks like I will have to reload my test generator software.

Edited by DutyCat

Does the main executable for your test generator program have a filename extension? If it is simply an *.exe or a *bat, it should not be associated with any other program. My guess is that it might have an extension of some sort; that matches an obscure compressed file format that is among the file types that PKZIP can handle.

I have this test generator program on my computer for my Earth and Space science classes. I have been using it for the past three years. Works great. No problems. Until today. I recently downloaded PKZIP software to unpack another application. Today, when I went to run my test generator program, the PK software jumped on it and is trying to treat it like a file that needs to be unzipped. I did not associate PKZIP with the program files. Anyone have any idea what is going on here? I don't know what the original file extensions were, but I deleted PKZIP and tried to get my program running again. However, now my computer is telling me that it needs to know what software to run to open up the program. I am running Win7 on a VAIO.