Hey gang,

OK, I thought I'd go ahead and start my thread. So far there's really nothing to show, except for proof that I actually have the kit.

So, here it is!

DSC07524.jpg

I've never built one of these before, but I've heard nothing but great things about this kit. This boxing has all the parts to do a WWII Mustang, which is what I'll be doing. It'll be done in a NMF, which is making me a little nervous because I've never done one before. I don't know what markings I'll use yet, but I'll have time to decide that later.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to this build. Wish me luck!

Cheers,

-O

Edited by oortiz10

I love the look of this Mustang. That mouth is the cat's arse

Hi Dirk,

Yeah, I agree the markings are pretty neat, but I won't be using 'em. My goal's to build a WWII Mustang. The markings shown on the box are for a Korean Warn Mustang. The parts for the WWII version are in the box, so I'm able to build a P-51 from this F-51 boxing. What I've learned is that the props and spinner, and canopy are different. Also, I won't be using the rockets or their launchers on my build. Luckily, the simple replacement and omission of some parts make this conversion simple. No hacking and bashing for me to screw up. Luckily, the NMF leaves me plenty to screw up...

-O

OK gang,

I had a free night so I got started on my Mustang. I know that I'm not going to have a lot of spare time in the future, so I figured I'd make progress as I can. For the record, I build for fun and not for contest judges. I know my builds aren't 100% accurate. I don't really sweat the small stuff too much. For me it's more the journey than the destination. Close enough is good enough for me.

Anyway, to that end, I began with the IP and the seat.

Here's my IP painted in MM enamels with Future replicating the glass on the dials.

DSC07527.jpg

I had a True Details seat that I decided to use in this build. This is my first stab at a resin seat.

DSC07528.jpg