The Academy kit appears to fit together quite well . Are than any other fit issue's with the Mig-21 , I was looking to add some 1/72 Mig's to my Soviet kit stash . I have a few russian helicopters but hardly any fighter jets .

Anyway , excellent progress so far on your build .

John .

I have two of these so the second could turn up green if I pick up some decals for a good price.

The kit only has about 35 parts to it and it kind of falls together. This is my first MIG-21 so I'm no expert but some parts seem thick (landing gear, doors, antennas...) and there are some injector pin marks. The wheels have next to no detail and there isn't much of a cockpit but there is a pilot that should take up much of the room. I got this pretty cheep from Squadron a while back and I'm pretty happy so far with the money spent on it.

1015.jpg

I will follow your steps and build one too for gb.I have the revell one.I agree with Sebastijan,Kit has rivets all over its body,rare in this size and scale!

Edited by Amen

What scale is the Revell kit? Is it a newer RoG or is it just a reissue? I have seen many older kits covered with rivets like the old Revell stuff from the 60s and 70s.

It's 1/72.

here some links with the kit

http://www7a.biglobe.ne.jp/~akaihoshi/kit_list/kl_mig21f13_rv72/kl_mig21f13_rv72.html

http://www.model-making.eu/Revell-MiG-21-Fa13-p-1-142648.html

http://www.britmodeller.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=45789

http://www.helmo.gr/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1511&Itemid=41

Edited by Amen

So what I was going to do was finish this MIG with MM Metalizer steel and various other shades at the tail cone. Since I wanted a weathered finish I figured I would try giving the plane a base coat of light gray, shade some panels (pre-shade) and shoot with the Metalizer. Now I’m thinking I should keep the solid base color and just work with different shades of Metalizer to get a good effect.