Tom "Mongoose" McEwen's '75 Duster Funny Car

I'm joining in with Revell's 1/25 scale version of Tom "Mongoose" McEwen's '75 Plymouth Duster Funny Car. I remember playing with the Hot Wheels versions of the funny cars driven by "The Snake" and "The Mongoose," so I was excited when I saw this new release. I've been building a lot of WW2 aircraft lately, so this will be a nice break for me. I started the model on Christmas day, and just found this GB, so I thought I'd jump in. I'm glad the build is long, because I'm a slow builder. :)

Some pics of the kit and some of the progress so far:

IMG_3262.jpg

Worked on the engine first. Individual strands from copper wire (painted after installation) used for plug wires as well as fuel line.

IMG_3237.jpg

IMG_3236.jpg

Edited by Andy70

After the engine was complete, I moved on to the chassis, which is where I am now. I have stripped the chrome off of some selected parts, and will hit them with metallizer for more realism. Thanks for looking!

IMG_3263.jpg

Andy

• 3 weeks later...
  • 3 weeks later...

Been a while, but I have a bit of progress to show:

IMG_3423.jpg

IMG_3422.jpg

And the new kitten (we've had her 3 days) decided to spy on my work:

IMG_3415.jpg

Next up is body paint, then decaling. I'm a little nervous that the white stripe decals won't be opaque enough to completely cover the red (and blue), but I also don't want to try and mask all that stuff off, so I'm just going to chance that the decals will do the job.

Thanks for looking!

• 1 month later...

Finally had a chance to work on the model again.

Chassis is all done:

IMG_3553.jpg

The seatbelts which were molded into the seat were nice, so I just painted them instead of messing with the seatbelt decals:

IMG_3554.jpg

And I have color on the body. Should clear coat it with future tomorrow, then the decaling begins. Hope the white on the decals is opaque enough to cover.

IMG_3552.jpg

Thanks for looking!

Andy