Marking scheme  

9 members have voted

1. 1. What scheme should I use?

After many months of good intentions, I am finally participating in this GB. There are two reasons I really wanted to get in on this one:

1. I love GBs - fun to have a common interest

2. (most importantly) My good friend Neo is one of the mods

Why did it take so long? I had two more difficult builds to finish up first. As a modeler, I am a "serial monogamist"... I finish one up before I start another. That's just how I roll. I have friends that are able to do two or even 4 or 5 at once - but not me.

The two builds I just finished up were quite mentally draining. One was a 1/32 CF-5A, using the Belcher Bits conversion for the F-5E kit. What a bear! It turned out OK, but not as nicely as I would have liked. I tip my hat to Phantom - he did a better job, and I realize now even more how much effort that meant.

I then did a 1/48 Tutor as a commission build, and the buyer wanted it in kitchen foil. I used a different kind of glue for the foil, and it dried too quickly and was not as tacky as the kind the store had before... :bandhead2:

So why do I tell you this? Because this is my therapy build. Within the cosy confines of a GB moderated by a friend, I plan to do an easy one and rediscover the pleasure of modeling.

I'm also trying out a poll for once. I'd like opinions on which colour scheme would look best. I am thinking of trying out some Alclad tips I got from another ARCer, so I tend to lean toward the Helen version (mostly silver with colourful yellow areas). I kind of like the others too... What do you think? Here are pics of the decals and the instructions.

P1130216.jpg

P1130217.jpg

P1130215.jpg

ALF

Edited by ALF18

I actually have the same kit and I think the best looking one is Helen. Im just worried about the checkered decal fit on the tail.

Glad to see you jump in !!

Neo

Edited by Neo

Thanks to Mike and Neo for the quick check-ins!