Tamiya 1/32 P51 D s/n44-14237 "Moonbeam McSwine"

This will be a (sort of) OOB build in that I'll keep scratchbuilding details to a minimum and will "only" use Roy Sutherland's detailing sets,HGW seatbelts and Jerry's spinner/prop...and maybe something to dress up one of the gun bays...OOB said I?

I've started following the instructions and have built the engine first thing first,and I've been amazed at how this Merlin has been engeneered...it's a little masterpiece requiring only a few linkages,pipes and wiring to turn it into a little jewel!

I've shot a little aluminum paint on the fuse halves and upper wings.I've decided to do that in order to avoid handling the model as much as I can while painting it.Ok..I'll handle it a gazillion times throughout the build but that won't frighten me the least for the paints I'll use are scratch and abuse proof...at least I hope!

I've been using Alclads for almost 8 years now but I've opted for Gunze's Super Metallics almost exclusively this time around.These paints are great,must be thinned 1(/paint):2(Leveling Thinner),dry rock-hard to a very smooth finish in a hour (even if I suggest to leave the painted parts alone for at least 12 hrs) and won't peel off even if you use duct tape to mask on them!

The fuselage has been sprayed with 01 Superfine Aluminum buffed with 6000 micromesh before lightening the center of each panel with 06 Chrome Silver.The panel above the radiator outlet is Gunze Super Metallic Steel...both panel modulation (gotta hate these new terms ) and the steel colored panel won't show in the pictures but they're there...when fuselage and wings will be mated together I'll darken/vary the grain of a few more panels.