While finishing up a 1/48 Revell B-17E conversion from a different group build I got the itch to do a B-17G in NMF. Since I've been building Revell/Monogram B-17s for some 35 years now it's about time I tackled it.

The donor kit:

MissConduct004.jpg

And I'll finally break out all the bells & whistles on this one:

MissConduct002.jpg

True Details cockpit, nose compartment and waist position, Eduard interior and exterior photo etch sets, Paragon hatches, tail position and intake block-offs, and leftover bits from the Verlinden detail set. Also in the pic is a set of detail pics I've taken at the Oshkosh Fly-In over the years. And just purchased is the Kits World decal set for Miss Conduct, a Fort from the Bloody 100th. It's about time they were represented in the collection, and the nose art is hot ;)/>/>/>

I doubt I'll finish this by 1 July with all the stuff on the bench (not much really, but one is Revell's USS Constitution...) but I'll post build progress as I go and we'll see what happens.

Ken

Edited by WymanV

I am too. I've been accumulating detail bits for B-17s for years now and I haven't had the heart to use them on the last few Forts I've built so if anything, it'll be nice to get them out of the stash and into something on display ;)/> Not to mention I can see which ones do any good for future builds.

And speaking of which, I have already ruled out the waist detail set. It's set up for the normal windows and they did it so anything you don't see isn't actually cast in the resin. Specifically, the interior bits around the windows are short. Staggering the windows will make them too short to see, if you can even see them through the windows. That being the case I may use parts like the floor as a pattern to scratchbuild some parts but it'll end up back in the bag for a future build. I think the F might be more appropriate a kit for the set as the windows are open.