Testors 1/48 SR-71 Blackbird

Hi everybody,

I am fairly new to the hobby, it has been less than 2 years since my first build (a revell fa-18). Currently I have around 10 builds under my belt, mostly being 1/48 jets. I have learned a lot from these forums, I visit forums regulary, follow others' builds and I am learning new stuff everyday. This is my first WIP topic, so I will be more than happy to hear your comments and critiques.

oanhw5.jpg

Sr71_1.jpg

I have always liked SR-71, it is an iconic aircraft with a mean appearence:) It was impossible to find Testors' 1/48 kit in my country, so I have ordered it to a friend returning from USA. At the beginning, I was just thinking of buildng it out of the box but while I was searching for some build threads on the net, I have seen Justin McCracken's amazing build topic in Aeroscale forums:

SR-71 Build

After seeing what he has done on the kit and how simply and clearly he has decribed what he has been doing, I have decided that I should take the challenge as a learning experience and try to mimic what Justin done in his build. From the start of the build, I should thank him for his very informative build.

Here is the box shot, as a WIP tradition:)

qso5c9.jpg

After opening the box and examining the sprues, I saw that the parts count is very low, the plastic is very soft to work on and there are a lot of flashes and ejector pin marks (or whatever they are called) everywhere. There are some "made in the USA" stickers on sprue bags and I guess this kit should have been manufactured or (tooled) in 80's, otherwise you would not be proud of the quality of the molding when compared to standarts of the most current kits:) After some months in the build process, I must say that this kit is about rescribing, dryfitting, sanding, filling, sanding again, filling again, and so on.