1/48 Hasegawa F-14D

Several people suggested I start a WIP for my F-14. This is my first time building the kit in 1/48. I'm not a tomcat expert, so advice along the way will be welcomed. The build is largely OOB, but I got a resin LANTIRN pod and some weapons from here and there. I may get some aftermarket seats, and I think I'll replace the decals too. This is the Black Lions last cruise decal sheet, but I'm hoping to do something with a bit more grime (but still colorful) on it. Maybe a bounty hunters or tomcatters CAG bird. It'll be a good while before I get to that stage though.

Meanwhilings...

My take on the cockpit.

IMG_20160501_213523760_zpswtybzrxh.jpg

started with drybrushing, followed by a black wash to diminish the drybrush look. I then picked out some buttons and switches with silver, light gray, red, or orange. The CRTs are clear green over a drybrushed black, which gives them some texture.

Edited by RKic

Great stuff, glad you are doing this WIP. The kit decals are ok, but Fightertown gets my vote everytime now. Don't forget to put in a PTID/LANTIRN side controller on the RIO port console.

F14rear.jpg

Edited by Parabat

Great stuff, glad you are doing this WIP. The kit decals are ok, but Fightertown gets my vote everytime now. Don't forget to put in a PTID/LANTIRN side controller on the RIO port console.

F14rear.jpg

Good call. There's a little control stick thing that came with the LANTIRN pod; that must be what you're talking about. Sticks will be getting painted and going in tonight. :thumbsup:

Watch the fit of that cockpit tub in the front fuselage halves. You will use curse words that would make a sailor blush...

Really? I dry fit it and it went in without issue. Do things become dicier once the wheel well and IP shrouds go in?

So I had a look-about the web for decal alternatives. Geez, you'd think that only VF-103 flew the tomcat, based on what is available :rolleyes: