U-2C Frances G Powers 1/48 Article 360

Is the old Hawk / Testors now newly re-released Lindberg kit still the only way to build the Article 360 airframe? I remember reading in some posts that the intakes must be modified a bit and the wing tanks must be installed from a newer testors kit. Any other thoughts? Any ideas on exactly what must be done to the intakes? There are a few different opinions on the intakes from various people.

From what I understand of the intakes, is that they must just be made more spherical laterally but not bulged vertically. I have a testors kit to take the wing fuel tanks from and bought metal landing gear and a vac canopy. I will have to see what I can modify a cockpit from.

You may or may not be interested but cutting edge released the resin available to doGary Powers aircraft.

Resin seems quite good as well but I'm not a expert on the U-2..intakes etc..

That resin is very hard to find and when it is on eBay it is VERY expensive. I have looked for quite a while for it. This picture shows the intake shape quite well.day2_032.JPGHere is the proof that the aircraft had the wing tanks attached to it also. There is some discussion about that subject on other sites. Also these pictures verify the blue color and not black. The same color as used by Taiwan aircraft.day07_004.jpg1280px-Francis_Gary_Powers_U2_at_Moscow.jpg

Edited by Otto

Some years ago I made a model of Power's jet for Chris Pocock, a long time friend and THE acknowledged expert on the history of the U-2, with at least three books on the subject. Since the model was a surprise, I kept bugging him about details. I could tell he was wondering why I kept asking so many questions and was getting a bit annoyed with me. Of course, all that evaporated once he saw why I'd been bugging him so relentlessly! Below is a summation of the details that should help you in your quest, as well as a few photos of the model to show the decal placement for all the various flush antennas.