I became a little more cynical today

I was at Sprue Brothers helping sort through kits with missing parts that had been returned. After organizing and putting them on shelves, I began to see a disturbing trend. A great majority of these kits were missing clear parts. Others were missing individual parts off of sprues. It was quite obvious the part had been snipped off. I've been building models for over 40 years and I can count on one hand the kits that were missing parts. I don't think I've ever had a kit that didn't have clear parts. Yet there were dozens of kits missing those. The only conclusion I could reach is that modelers had screwed up, purchased the kit, taken the parts they needed out, and then returned it. That hurts everybody, from the local seller down through the distributor and manufacturer. If you mess up, man up and admit it. Go through the manufacturer and get a new part. If that can't be done, buy a new kit and chalk it up to a modeling lesson. All those kits that were returned now have to be processed and shipped back to the distributor from which they came. That takes time away from processing your orders and getting them out the door. If the kit is truly missing parts or has a short shot, then by all means try and get a replacement. But don't try and scam getting new parts when it was your doing. Sorry for lecturing, but I was simply astounded at the number of kits that had been returned. The kicker of it is I've seen requests for parts on the various forums. Guess what some of the kits were that I sorted through? The exact same kit missing the exact same part that someone had requested on the forums.

Man, that just sucks. I smashed in my F-14 window recently and was fortunate enough to have a friend here send the part. However, I was prepared to buy another kit because it was MY FAULT. I guess every walk of life has "that guy". People, please don't be that guy.

Edit: Darren your a heck of a guy to help like that.

Edited by falcon20driver