F-15A Air Superiority, Blue...

This is what I've been at work on since about the time the site shut down...and I'm mostly posting this right now to just get a feel for the new format here...

It is the original F-15J boxing that I plan to build as an early F-15A, in the production Air Superiority Blue scheme. I'm not an expert on the F-15, but from what I gather, the things I'll need to change/modify are:

• F-15A wheels: I guess there are some resin ones available out of Russia now, but apparently the old Monogram "F-15" is the only production kit with the early wheels. I obtained a set of those and they are the same diameter as Hasegawa wheels (imagine that...!?) so, I'll use the outer half glued to the Hasegawa inner half, there by avoiding having to modify the Hasegawa strut to accommodate Monogram wheels.
  • Exhaust with "Turkey Feathers": Done, available in the kit (*though I might get a set of Aires).
  • ESCAPAC ejection seat: Quickboost makes a nice one that is easily modified to the IC-7 type...by not using the upper face curtain handle.
  • Speed Brake spine "strake": scratch built.
  • Air Superiority Blue paint (FS 35450): Available from Gunze Mr. Hobby line of paints.
  • Decals for the 555th at Luke AFB: I have the TwoBobs "Candy Stripes" sheet, with the white letters/numbers that I will use...minus the candy strips.

So, other than those things, I don't plan on going too far off the reservation with this build...kit cockpit, no aftermarket wheel wells or intakes etc.

Construction started out with the cockpit. I painted and masked off the instrument area. I used some "Mike Grant Decals" dials for the small bank of dial on the instrument panel as well as some of those new "Airscale" cockpit placards.

The Bay 5 avionics bay was painted with "Xtra Colour" F-15 Interior Colour and I scratch built the canopy ejector ram.

IMG_2576_zps09gujnii.jpg

IMG_2573_zpsffuszntq.jpg

IMG_2567_zpsfwmnmvo4.jpg

IMG_2617_zpsgyjeajcf.jpg

IMG_2616_zpsnykppaex.jpg