Can anyone recommend a really good airbrush?

Hello everyone. First, I hope all of you have a wonderful Christmas! Me looking to get into the christmas spirit, I'm looking to buy a new airbrush as a gift to myself. What I am looking for is a double action, gravity feed airbrush. Something that is easy to disassemble and clean.  I have been using a H&S evolution for a couple of years now, but it is starting to spit out paint instead of spraying. I have tried everything that I know of, but to no avail. So, any suggestions would be great and truly appreciated. Badger, Iwata, H&S, I'm open to pretty much any brand. I'd love to hear your thoughts on what you use and why you would recommend it. 

Thank you for reading.

Ryan.

Edited by caudleryan

Ryan,

Have you tried replacing the nozzle and needle of your Evolution for a cheap fix? Doesn't the Evolution come with 2 different nozzle sizes anyways? 

I use several airbrushes myself: my standard airbrush is an Evolution too, because it sprays well and is the easiest to clean. That said I also use an Iwata HP-BH, which I alsolutely love. For detail work this is the weapon of choice - it is just mind-blowingly precise. Regarding cleaning it is a little more effort than the Evolution as the actual nozzle is screwed to the body and you are not supposed to unscrew it every time. I use cleaning sprays for the Iwata.

HTH

Cheers,

Joerg

Unless you've damaged the main structure of the Evolution, there shouldn't be any reason to prevent you from getting it up an going again.  You might also check your airflow (hose, regulator, etc.) as well as your paint.

But it you want a new airbrush that is easy to clean and actually designed for the type of paints we use, I would suggest the iwata Eclipse HP-CS.

Eclipse-HP-CS_R3-x-1024x504.jpg

Paul