1/144 Bombardier CRJ 100 Big Planes Kits

In my ongoing quest to completely leech all of the joy out of this hobby, I am tackling a limited-run kit of a Bombardier CRJ-100 in 1/144, from Big Planes Kits.

k37cFzP.jpg

Although it's an American-based airline, the aircraft is entirely Canadian-designed and built, at the Bombardier/Canadair plant at Trudeau airport in Montreal. I've toured the assembly line several times, while showing clients the Challenger 604 (now the 605 line) assembly area when I worked as an instructor on the Challenger. The CRJ 100 is pretty much a Challenger with some small changes (fuselage plugs, etc). 

This kit is tiny! 

ZN5wbeV.jpg

It is a funny mix of transparencies, masks, PE, resin, and plastic with few or no locator holes. All in a tiny size. This is going to be a bit of a challenge.

XR50lGN.jpg

ALF

On 10/09/2017 at 10:28 PM, dnl42 said:

I'll be watching this! First because I have their Pilatus Porter kit in my stash, second because I'm a sucker for these builds...

I also have another of theirs in my stash: the 1/72 Challenger 604. This is really a practice build for me.

ALF

On 11/09/2017 at 6:34 AM, martin_sam_2000 said:

I have one of these as well. Looking forward to see how it goes together. What scheme are you looking to build? I have V1 decals' Air Canada Express set for it.  

Sean

I was thinking of doing the kit decals, which are Comair. I think the GB rules permit that, since it's a Canadian designed and built aircraft? If not, looks like I'll be shopping for some Jazz decals... :)

On 11/09/2017 at 1:14 AM, Trojan Thunder said:

:popcorn:  I have their 1/72 version of this.

Nice! This, as I stated above, is my practice run to understand how to best build this kit, and transfer that knowledge to their Challenger, which is likely quite similar.

On 11/09/2017 at 12:07 AM, bmccarron said:

Beware!  Boeing might claim that this constutes an unauthirized subsidy.