1/32 Kinetic Hawk NFTC (Moose Jaw)

Hey folks! It's been a long time since I've been active in these forums, but now that the academic year has ended, I have a bit more time. I am building the big Kinetic Hawk 100-series model; it will be the Canadian Hawk 115 version for NFTC. I am also using Kinetic's cockpit PE set. I have built one of these models a few years back, for a friend who was the maintenance supervisor in Cold Lake on the Hawk (for Bombardier). He seemed quite happy with his model. I had two of these in my stash, so I am building one now, which I may donate to the Montreal Aviation Museum, and I'll build the other one at a later date to keep for myself.

The NFTC Hawk is a personal favourite of mine. I worked as a Test Pilot at simulator manufacturer CAE in Montreal on the NFTC program. We built simulators for 3 Harvard IIs for Moose Jaw, and 2 Hawk simulators (one for Moose Jaw, one for Cold Lake). In Moose Jaw, the Hawk is used for Phase 3; pilots who are selected for fighters or instructing get their wings on the Hawk in Moose Jaw (MJ). After they graduate, those who go on to fighters fly the same Hawk jets in Cold Lake (OD), for the Fighter Lead-In portion of their training. The jets are rotated back and forth between MJ and OD, to even out the fatigue life on them. In MJ, they are flown with the wingtips capped off (i.e. no missile rails), and in both places they fly with centreline fuel tanks.

This is the box from my first model (already threw out the cover from the current build):

X75IiOb.jpg

This is the first build I made, for a Cold Lake aircraft with missile rails and captive AIM 9M:

xSOFfR4.jpg

ALF