Commentary: The US Air Force needs a light attack aircraft

Recently U.S. Rep Mike Coffman from Colorado wrote in the Air Force Times about the light attack aircraft program in the Air Force. https://www.airforcetimes.com/opinion/commentary/2018/09/09/commentary-the-us-air-force-needs-a-light-attack-aircraft/

I wrote back to him as this is something that seriously bugs the heck outta me.

"

Mr. Coffman,

I apologize ahead as I am not one of your constituents and do not live in Colorado (Austin, TX) however I felt that I needed to reply to your commentary piece in the Air Force Times regarding light attack aircraft. And as a veteran myself I felt an even larger urge to speak about this to someone in an official capacity.

For several years now I have followed the Air Force's and Defense Department's thought process and experiments with the light attack aircraft concept. And for several years I have felt like I want to pull my hair out in complete frustration over it. The Air Force has gone in a complete circle now, 40 years after Vietnam. All one has to do is look at what happened with aviation during that time and the parallels are unbelievable. 

Amazing, reliable, and cost effective aircraft such as the OV-10 Bronco, A-37 Dragonfly, OV-1 Birddog, and Douglas A-1 Skyraider are just a few examples of light attack aircraft that were developed and deployed into the combat theatre due to the massive need of such capabilities they provided. The Air Force even saw a need of subsonic jet aircraft to complement light attack and utilized their own version of the Navy's A-7 Corsair II with the A-7D. Requirements and mission needs eventually led to the development of the beloved A-10 Warthog, which as the Air Force tried 30 years ago before, is up to the chopping block again.