Sorry if this has been discussed in my absences....

I've been using this stuff for about 30 years, seriously.  Not as the main filler, I use CA glue to fill the major stuff, but for the final step to eliminate the final little flaws, it's always been totally perfect for they way I build.  Perfect.

Got around to opening a tube in the new label/appearance yesterday (I've been building a LOT less recently).  Thought it was badly mixed....ended up emptying half the tube (seriously!) before realizing the whole tube was the same....

....went online and found they changed the formula a year ago?  Man, this stuff is totally unusable!! I tried, I really did!!!

Done.  Gone.  

For a guy who's been using Model Master enamels and Squadron White Putty since Reagan was president (true!), I'm feeling quite put out....

Well then that explains everything.   I bought the stuff after seeing a lot of positive feedback on the net... and I hate the stuff.  I cant get it to bond well no matter what I do.  I gave up and just started using dissolved sprue shavings. 

I love Tamiya fine grain putty for general work.  I also use Milliput on more significant gaps, to me it contours easier than CA.  Lastly Vallejo 'Plastic Putty' in the long nose tube is a gem for tight spots.  Best wishes

Longtime Squadron putty user here as well. Loved the old formula and saw no reason to change it. If they (Squadron) wanted to market a faster drying putty then by all means make one. But I wish they had continued the older putty as well. No doubt, this new formula is completely different for sure and it takes time to get used to it. You can't use it/apply it like you did the old stuff. Once you get used to it,  I will say that it doesn't shrink like the old formula, it does dry much faster, sands and polishes easier, but it takes more applications to deal with larger seams and such. Others air miles may vary obviously.