Which 1/48 SU-17 Fitter?

Hi All,

I hope everyone isn't getting overly tired of my requests for opinions on various things...I just like getting feedback from knowledgeable folks who HAVE real opinions...

So, this time, I'm interested in what people think about the 1/48 Kitty Hawk Su-17/22 versus the Hobbyboss SU-17M4.  I've read and heard things on these.  First off, I don't care about the slight differences in the versions of the planes between the two models.  

Matt at Doog's really DIS-recommended the Kitty Hawk, based on their 'lazy engineering' and difficult build, and the Finescale Modeler comparison said similarly, that the KH was much better detailed but difficult, while the HB was easy to build but weak in details.  I'm a detail kind of modeler, so I can see myself going for the KH version, but the KH is REALLY pricey (and though cost is really not a big deal to me, I don't want to pay a lot for a not-very-good model), and, frankly, I'm not the best builder, especially when it comes to filling and sanding seams and restoring lost detail, etc.  

All that said, have any of you had experience with either or preferably, both Fitters, and if so, what do YOU say?  

I went with the KH kit because it is more detailed and a bit more accurate (as far as I know). I have Cold War Studio's belly correction and nose cone intake splitter part, plus some other aftermarket. I should say that I also have the old KP kit in it Mistercraft boxing with just about every aftermarket part I could find, including Cutting Edge's set with dirty wing replacements. I got all that before the KH kit came out. Not sure if I'll still build it, but with all the extras I got, I would probably turn out OK.

5 hours ago, Mstor said:

Not sure if I'll still build it, but with all the extras I got, I would probably turn out OK.