Great Seam Filling Stuff

Hey All,

I have to say that even though I've been building models for many years now, when I was a youngster, and now as an adult for over 10 years, I still consider myself a newbie/novice in many area of the hobby, and one of those is filling seams and scribing panel lines and making rivets.  I've just never been good at this, and it's mostly due to my fears at ruining the wonderful molded detail that many of today's models have.  But, I also realize that failure to fill those seams is perhaps worse than the subsequent lack of recreating the lost panel lines after the filling and sanding has taken place.  I've been a fan of using acrylic, water based fillers, like Perfect Plastic Putty, which works well for certain things, and I love how you can use water to clean up the residue, which I find ideal for things like wing/fuselage joints, where a damp or wet Q-Tip can clean things up before the putty dries, with no remaining mess.  However, the acrylic putty, for me at least, often doesn't do a stellar job of making the joints/seams completely disappear.  For that, I've found something that I"m sure many, if not most of you have long been aware of, but I only recently discovered while watching one of Doog's Models  P-47M series.  It's 3M Acryl-Red Glazing Putty.  Though is has ''acryl' in the name, it's not water based, and I've found i tiny bit of Gunze Mr. Leveling Thinner makes the putty a little thinner and more easily applied.  But this stuff dries quickly, within 20 minutes, and while it does take a bit more effort to sand and smooth compared to water based putty, it leaves the seams absolutely perfectly filled, with no observable joint at all.  Again, this is more than likely no news to most of you, but for me, it's a revelation, and is another thing on my way to being a better modeler.