Working with Tamiya rubber tank tracks

Hi, guys. I have never worked with Tamiya rubber tracks before. I’m going to be making my M4A3E8 Sherman tank. Any advice, tips and tricks on installing, priming, clear coating and painting would be much appreciated. I’m getting a bit of mixed opinions on the internet, so I thought I would ask you guys here. Thank you! 

btw, I’ll be working with Ammo of Mig paints, Microscale clear coats and Stynylrez primer. Thanks guys. 

Oh man, I've not worked with those since the kits were motorized in the 1970s and early 1980s.

Have to admit, the motors allowed for instant realistic weathering, just go run the thing through a mudpuddle! 

😁

Where you say "rubber" tracks - do you mean the flexible ones which need to be joined at ends? Or the actual rubber continuous loop tracks like the steerable Hunting Tiger my Dad gave me in 1975 had? 

Where instructions show peening the pins over with a hot/warmed screwdriver blade that works and works well.

Use a small flathead so as to allow quick heating of the screwdriver and precision application.

Tape tracks to a board when you do that.

As far as paint, there were rather fewer options back then than now.

Testors, Pactra, enamels; and PollyScale acrylics were it, period.

(Humbrol enamels were available, but not locally where I was)

Any given one worked sort of okay on the I think vinyl tracks which had the pins to be joined.

Painting the actual rubber continuous loop tracks the steerable Hunting Tiger had, forget it.

Edited by southwestforests
added an important process item
On 11/21/2020 at 11:02 PM, southwestforests said:

Where you say "rubber" tracks - do you mean the flexible ones which need to be joined at ends? Or the actual rubber continuous loop tracks like the steerable Hunting Tiger my Dad gave me in 1975 had?