How to Paint Metallic/Non-metallic Intersection

Hi All,

Happy Holidays!  

I am about to do some painting that I've never done before.  It's on an Eduard 1/48 P-51D.  I've never done any natural metal finish, much less NMF transitioning to a solid color, but that's what I'm going to try to do with my P-51.  The rear of the fuselage and entire tail is going to be solid yellow, and from that point forward will be NMF.  Does anyone have any good ideas on how to paint these areas, that is, what should be painted first, or how to do this paint job?  I'm planning to do a gloss black base for the NMF, and I'm thinking I'm going to use one of the AK Xtreme Metal Aluminum or Polished Aluminum, and Mr. Color lacquer yellow for the fuselage rear and tail.  

So, with that in mind, how would you approach the painting of these colors?  I'm open to other suggestions for paints, as I realize the AK Xtreme Metal is an enamel based paint, and if I go the way I've planned, it will be enamel next to lacquer.  I have no idea how this may work out, or if this a problem.  If you think these paints would be okay, how would you do the painting, and in what order?  Trying to paint the yellow lacquer over a gloss black base does not sound like a good idea, so I'm thinking that painting the gloss back up to the intersection paint, then perhaps a white primer (I use Stynylrez) under the yellow would work, maybe, but then I'd have to do a perfect job of masking both the gloss black and white primer in addition to the metal and yellow colors.  I would think there would be an easier way to address the primer/base colors, but, again, I've not done NMF at all, previously, and certainly no experience with NMF right next to a solid color.