1/72 YF-12A, Blackbird Interceptor, 60-6935, Italeri

Hello peeps, First wip in a while here

Seeing as i'm enjoying my self so much and its turning out better than normal, i thought i'd share.

This is my first attempt at rescribing a full kit and i don't know why i didn't do it sooner, but a bit more pratice i think.

The progress so far

Cockpit done, i Added the throttle and a few extra switch panels, not accurate but help make it look busy. Also made some seat cusions and belts from foam tape and tamiya tape.

pict0629.jpg

pict0631h.jpg

pict0632g.jpg

pict0634b.jpg

IP panels, just painted and dry brushed, might give the eduard set a go on the next one, seeing as italeri missed so much detail. There must be half the insturments you get on the IP in the monogram kit.

pict0635o.jpg

Front top

pict0540n.jpg

Front bottom and scratch built nose gear well, damm photos show every thing far to clearly, might have to redo the 2 blobs of miliput, was thinking fishing weights or ball bearings. I.E. these things Nose gear well

pict0531r.jpg

Had another go at this and i think it looks a bit better

pict0646d.jpg

I know some of the panel lines don't quite line up but i have plans to correct it at some point before paint.

And my lovely cracked decals :badmood: anyone got any tips other than joining up the pieces.

pict0637y.jpg

Found this site, which is great for all things Blackbird SR-71 Site and direct linnk to my bird YF-12A Pics

Please feel free to critique anything, apart from the cockpit :winkgrin:

Thanks for looking

Jamie

Thanks for the replys chaps and the tips.

Nice build MiG31, any more pics. All black paint and plane 60-6935, got another one on its way fom ebay i'm planing for the black and chrome paint.

Thanks Jamie

Edited by sweaty
Jaime,

Nice progress. I'm looking for a 1/48. It's one of the few aircraft I have left to get for my collection. Where did you get yours?

Paul