F-4B 1/48 Academy & extra bits

I'm surprised there's not more builds of this kit. The fit is really nice, detail looks good (although I'm no Phantom expert) and the finish etc. is top class. Anyway, I started this a few months ago and it's progressed quite quickly by my standards. Photos are just my phone as I haven't had a chance to pull out the whole lights, camera, etc. setup. I'll do that at the end to show off the hundreds of colourful decals :)/>

Kit & stuff:

1_zps8e6638e5.jpg

Kit, KA Model exhausts which have some lovely delicate detail, Master Models pitot, ram air inlet & AoA probe, Hypersonic corrected tail surfaces, A/C intakes and MB5 seats (yes I know I should be using the 7's but I really like these so I'm using them). Other than that i'll be using the kit decals (cartograph) and some plastic, wire etc.

The last aftermarket item is seamless intakes from a Russian guy I hadn;t heard of before - XMM models. Really high quality moulding, includes nice outlets at the rear of the splitter plates, fits beautifully and Dinosavr was good to deal with.

Biggest weakpoint of the kit is the lack of sidewall detail but it's pretty easy to add some busyness in there, and tbh it's difficult to see when everything is together.

2_zps88a7d5a2.jpg

3_zps003b5650.jpg

4_zpsd32101b9.jpg

Added a bit of paint and moved the radar screen handle. Shiny bits are coloured cellophane over bare metal foil - works well.

5_zps28034e44.jpg

6_zps41907395.jpg

All the pics I had show lots of spaghetti behind the pilot. I may have gone slightly overboard but after painting, removing the blue masking tape and putting the seat on it will look nice and busy. You can also see some of the painted sidewall detail here.

7_zps6f9ea20b.jpg

Main construction next.