First WWI Kit: WnW F.1 Camel BR-1

Greetings all,

Started my first ever WWI kit, and so far it's great fun. There's just something about the whole WnW package. Ridiculously expensive but very alluring. My stash went from 0 to 6 in as many weeks. This is my first build with rigging, first attempt at wood grain, first biplane since childhood, first, first, first, etc. All suggestions welcome!

Anyways, couldnt resist some extras, some of which will need a 10x magnifier to even notice, but I'll know its there. 

bHHGlZt.jpg

I spent a good 30 min removing the kit seat pad while trying to save the seat supports before I realized the excellent barracuda cast item comes with its own...So this is what I ended up with. Barracuda gives you the option of a smooth or buttoned cushion, both are beautiful. I went with smooth and I'll probably put the extra to good use in another WnW build.

enc8c1G.jpg

K385HO9.jpg

And heres the whole seat and rear fuel tank assembly awaiting the painting of the black brackets on the wood frame. The glossy effect on the fuel tank is Vallejo "petrol spills"....not sure how I like this product yet, or really if I'm using it correctly. I found that an undercoat of vallejo rust on the cushion followed by burnt sienna oils, then a tamiya panel liner wash produced a lovely leather effect:

1KqLYj9.jpg

Also finished the induction tube/ammo bin/forward fuel tank/gun suport structure. I'm using a lot of new techinques on this build including a lot of new metal weathering effects. The ammo bins could've done with a bit of a newer finish....as far as I know these birds probably didnt survive long enough for the metal to get this bad...and the macro doesn't help either...

r2AWtrb.jpg

And again with the petrol spills effect on the filler cap and down the side....this came out a little better I think.

jpSnuiT.jpg

WnW supply's the vickers with solid blast shields (?) so I hollowed them out and added 0.4mm brass tube.

NxpSmHR.jpg