First Model in 11 years

I am re-discovering the challenge and fun of model airplane building from my younger days. I never attepted to paint those models but have begun painting the current project, a P-38. My problem is I used an acrylic base coat (testors) on the bombs which came black. I let dry for a day and then sprayed olive drab enamel (testors). The result was an ugly mess, the base coat peeled. I am NEW to painting models and would like to understand what went wrong?? :lol:

Jason

The problem you experienced is caused by painting enamels over arcylics. Enamel paints have a stronger base, and if you paint them over arcylics, the enamel paint will eat into the acryilcs. You can paint acrylics over enamels, just not the other way around. HTH, and welome back to modeling!

The problem you experienced is caused by painting enamels over arcylics. Enamel paints have a stronger base, and if you paint them over arcylics, the enamel paint will eat into the acryilcs. You can paint acrylics over enamels, just not the other way around. HTH, and welome back to modeling!

How come you can paint laquers over acrylics? laquer solute seems to eat everything it touches.

Mike

Example: Alclad over Tamiya Gloss Black.

You can argue either way, I find enamels more to my taste. But use acrylics for clear coats (future and MM flat).

I'm also in the process of trying how to get a gloss coat from tamiya gloss black.

Acrylics have a faster drying time, but they dont not re desolve with more painted added to it as enamels do.

This can lead to build up in an airbrush, paintbrush, and paintbrush marks over your models.

Mike

You can argue either way, I find enamels more to my taste. But use acrylics for clear coats (future and MM flat).

Starting with an enamel primer, I can then use either enamels or acrylics to paint and then Future to finish. :lol:

Will an enamel primer prevent acrylic paint from running and collecting?