EZ Line Rigging Question

Just started rigging my Wingnut SE 5a and began with the landing gear. I had problems getting the EZ line into the drop of CA that I had placed because it doesn't look like it has enough strength (it seemed to bend and not take hold).

Was wondering if there's a better way to do this (i.e. I tried placing the string then putting the CA but that seemed a little messier).

Is this just an art thing that I need to practice or is there a trick that all you stringbaggers have learned...this is my first project with rigging...

thanks for any help or advice!

Try spotting the CA on the model where the rigging is to be fixed. A small drop on the end of a cocktail stick should be sufficient. Touch the rigging line into some kicker - a cotton bud immersed in kicker will be good for several swabs - position the rigging onto the CA and you should have a near instant bond. The rigging line needs to be close or near close to the correct angle to the model surface before the CA sets.

peebeep

Take a large sewing needle and cut off the tip of the EYE. Pour a drop or two of CA in an open container. Now dip the open needle tip in the ca, you will get a very small drop of CA between the two forks of the eye. Apply this drop where you want it then set the EZLINE in the drop. If you want to, make a second needle for adding a drop of accellerator. PS don't get the needles mixed up! And keep a flame, candle, small torch availble to burn the dried up CA off the first applicator.

MTC YMMV

As Mr. Peebeep has said, Sir, you want to have a little CA accelerator on the end of the line you touch to the waiting CA gel glue. Give it a 'one mississippi two mississippi' before letting go with the tweezers. When you do let go with the tweezers and pull them away, be careful to do it in a way that does not snag or pull on the attached line; I assure you bitter experience lies behind this suggestion....