Trumpeter 1:32 Corsair

After talking (typing) to Corsairman, he suggested I add mine so here it is...

THE KIT:

Tm-Corsair-box.jpg

got the aires cockpit, engine, and a bunch of eduard stuff, and other fiddly bits...

DCP_2045.jpg

Picture044.jpg

i have NEVER worked with resin before and know nothing about it, but i wanted it to look as good as possible

THE DETAILS:

i was trying to make it for my dad for his birthday as its one of his favorite aircraft (besides the P 51)... i spent alot of time on the engine, scratchbuilding and when i did the dry fit, the kit cowl doesnt fit right... its too small or i have too much crap on the engine...

THE STALL:

the aires cockpit was a bear and im still not sure its going to fit as well as i would like... also the engine whats-its listed above...

and, since it was warm (spring and summer came and went 3x) i started back on my 1:1 1976 AMC JEEP CJ5... THAT takeas a lot of time too...

i ended up sanding the tops of the cylinders to get the engine to fit inside the cowl and its ok now... i also had to trim/shave the 'flywheel/transmission' to get the fit to work in the kit location...

i am trying new paints (vallejo) as well as vallejo washes, which i like very much... i find them easier to work with than oils...

Picture018_zps4e74f6b9.jpg

Picture019_zps3e38da94.jpg

the cockpit want easy, but after a bit of grinding, i got it to fit and i am pleased with it

Picture017_zps34d48185.jpg

the belts are also my first attempt at PE stuff...

i boned up the fuel tank area and added the PE replacement... but did NOT read the instructions before i placed it, so i didnt remove material to get it to lay flush... but i added filler and spent some time sanding to get it to blend in ok... i like it, even though its not exactly perfect...

Picture012_zps1c5499a0.jpg