Guys i am very new to modeling. When i look at a tomcat that other people produce I am amazed at some of the scratch building that people do to make their parts (or parts not included with their kits) realistic. I need help on scratch building. Like i said i am new to modeling and i am wondering if anybody has any suggestions or books on scratch building that will help me out with. Believe me i have everything that i need to do it (styrene, rods, wires) but i cant seem a grasp on it. Any help will be helpful.

Thank you

Tomcat Lover

Seeing as how I'm rather new to scratchbuilding, I think you've already solved the hardest part, which is getting the scratch building material all together. Outside of that, it's just going to take a little bit of artistic license, and imagination. Snip 1/8" of an inch piece of styrene, and rig it into a wheel bay, boom...you got a fire detection sensor. Roll out some milliput very fine, cut the ends, and graft from box to box in the wheel bay, and boom...you got tubing and wiring. I use to think there was a big secret to it as well, and don't get me wrong...some are much better than others at it, but I think that ultimately just comes with time and experience in undrestanding the limitations of some of this stuff. I'm sure it gets easier as you work with it a few times, but just try to replicate what you see in phots by cutting and using what you have. Remember, this hobby is all about simulation on a smaller scale, so it's hard for someone to say what's right or wrong. Hope this helps.

I think that will help but when i look at what people are coming up with by scratch building it really amazes me on how they do it. I will take your advise and practice, practice, practice. And look at my reference photos as well. Thank you for replying.