Hey been awhile since I have started a new topic. Some of you may know that I have a bulging disc in my back, well the pain has gotten worse and worse since then. I went back to the doctor and had a CT Scan and found out that I have a herniated disc right below the bulging disc, and thats why I havent really been doing any models or posting, and miss the hell out of it. Just want to know if anyone else has the same issue and if there is a difference between just a bulging and herniated or if they are the same and anything you are doing for pain control. I am currently doing daily stretches and my doctor changed me from Tylenol w/Codeine to Vicodin. Any other suggestions would be awesome. Thanks again and sorry its been so long since I have really been here other than a few observations of builds in progress.

If I remember correctly (I am not a doctor. I did once take a Sports medicine class in college.), the bulging disc is slightly out of position (bulging out one side of the spine) and inflamed, and possibly putting some pressure on the spinal column. Possibly at least partially caused by proximity to the herniated disc. The herniated disc is the more serious, it is more fully displaced, and even pinched by the vertebrae.

Your doctor will tell you if and when surgery would be necessary, a lot of the rest is pain management and hoping to control and reduce the inflammation (and thereby, the pain). It may or may not be "fixable" by non-intrusive means. A chiropractor or other therapist might help, some doctors don't take such treatments seriously. There may also be a legitimate medical reason to avoid.