Joe Sutter's Book.

For my fellow book hounds out there.

I just finished reading Joe Sutter's book "747. Creating the Worlds First Jumbo Jet and other Adventures from a Life in Aviation". What a great read! I am no aviation designer and no math/physics wizard, so I purchased the book with a little apprehension that it would be page after page of math, statistics, and physics (or something to that affect). However, the book didn't get overly technical whatsoever. I was able to follow along with ease and his book really is riveting and an exceptional story of Sutter's life, Boeing, the race for the first successful Jumbo jet, and of course the 747 (my favorite airliner :rolleyes: ). If you haven't read it and are looking for a nice, relaxing, informative yet entertaining (key word there ;) ) read then I highly recommend it.

Does anyone have any good recommendations for Airliner related books that they have read? A book on a specific aircraft, Airline, manufacturer, pilot/personality? I am always looking for a good book(s)!

Cheers all :cheers: !

Don

Tex Johnston's autobiography is a good read. Very folksy, but the section on his experience with flying aboard the Tu-104 at the 1958 Paris Air Show is worth the price of the book :)

Not long after my (now ex-) wife and I got married, I was perusing one of my many airplane books one day. Joan looked over my shoulder and said, "Hey, that's my Uncle Joe!". The photo she was looking at showed Joe Sutter standing next to the 747SP prototype.

"No dear," I said, "that's Joe Sutter, father of the 747.".

"Yeah, that's my Aunt Nancy's husband!"

I almost fell off the chair. Unfortunately I've never had a chance to meet Uncle Joe, but I sure would like to. Joan said when they had family functions when she was a kid, all the men went to the basement where Uncle Joe had a whole collection of models of Boeing airplanes.