Anyone got their hands on the Hobby Boss Mi-8?

Janman,

I'm awfully weary about anything Hobbyboss does when it comes to helicopters. After seeing their UH-60 Black Hawk and building their CH-34 kit (which both suffer from shape errors or detail errors), I don't hold much hope that they will get the Hip right. Hopefully I'm wrong as I'd like to see a decent Mi-8/17 kit in the one, true scale (IIRC, both the Kopro and Zvezda kits have shape errors as well in relation to the canopy glazings).

Cheers,

Alby

I understand your worries, guys. I've still sensed that the general mood towards the HB Hip has been quite positive due to the very probable possibility that it might be a miniature of Trumpeter's 1/35 Mi-8. I'm not an expert on Helos, not the mention the 1/35 scale, but I do know they've done it before with succes, at least in armour (1/48 T-34 and KV series).

Apperently it is not out yet....

"Dear Sir

MiG-17 will be released in August. Mi-8 will be released in July. Su-47 will be released later.

Thanks for your interest to our products."

I will ask Eric.

For what it's worth, the Hobby Boss website has some tiny little CAD DRAWINGS of the Hip.

It seems that different shades of grey denote separate parts. May be a really long shot, but maybe someone can trace a lineage from that. :thumbsup: Whether it's a copied Zvezda or down-scaled Trumpeter.

Can't comment on the Mi choppers from HB, but have picked up the AH-64D.

My $00.02 worth - engraved with the current recessed rivet detail, it is still the pre-production a/c with the pointy rear ends to the enlarged chin cheeks, cockpit very basic in detail and instrument layouts may be wrong, it has a 2 piece tail rotor ( not the one piece molding in most AH-64 kits!!), with added detail it will look good.

I just checked 1 on-line store and it is priced about the same as the other 64D offerings and IMHO an overall better kit, not much but.....