Are Mr. Hobby Acqueous paints any good?

I have been using them since 1986, and I love them.

Great assortment of colors. But they are fickle with brush painting, so ya just have to insure that you have no oils on the parts you are painting.

I love them because they spray beautifully.

I use Isopropyl alchohol for the cleaning and thinning.

HTH William G

AFAIK they are not available from any sources in USA, but like others have said, they are somewhat similar to Tamiya's acrylics, have many more color choices than does Tamiya and spray very nicely. These and Tamiya acrylics are my first choices for model paint these days.

I started using the Gunze acrylics back in the late 1980s when my boys were quite little and wanted to 'help' build models. Gunze was my first exposure to water clean-up acrylics, at least that is how I viewed them and figured if the kids caused a disaster, it would be easier to clean up as well as explain to SWMBO if I could use water instead of lacquer thinners :(

I think Mr. Hobby Aqueous are fantastic paints. They are comparable to Tamiya acrylics. However, to me the biggest difference is that Mr. Hobby Aqueous is semi-flat (there is a nice sheen to it when it dries). Hence, they are not as flat as Tamiya. This allows Hobby Aqueous to require much less gloss coat for the decals and enamel washes. As a result, if you have subtle post shading or weathering, you can preserve that better with these paints. As you might have noticed, thick gloss coats have a tendency to suppress the subtle weathering/shading.

That being said, I have not used the Mr. Color range. I hear great things about them as well. They too dry semi-gloss as far as I know.

hi,