Great Blue Angel Photo

Take a look at the link. I was browsing and found this great photo of one of the Blues on Airliners.net . I've never seen the light refracting the shock waves like this forming on around the plane. Usually, you only see a mist.

I agree, I've never quite seen that effect before either ...

It almost has a "Warp" look to it, very cool ...

Gregg

Not to be a skeptic or anything - but just how exactly does a fast moving jet bend light waves? I've seen thousands and thousands of pictures of aircraft and not one ever looked like that... Looks cool, but I'd bet someone is pulling a fast one - no pun intended.

Hitch

:D Maybe it's not the aircraft refracting the light but perhaps water drawn into low pressure areas from the bay that is doing the refracting. I'm no expert on transonic/supersonic aerodynamics but that is a possibility at least to my way of thinking. Are there any aerodynamicists amongst us who can give a proper explanation of what we see here.

Regardless of the scientific explanation for this phenomanen, the standard of photography is certainly first class. I wish I had that skill level. Maybe one day if I keep practising.

;)

Ross.

Take a look at the link. I was browsing and found this great photo of one of the Blues on Airliners.net . I've never seen the light refracting the shock waves like this forming on around the plane. Usually, you only see a mist.

http://www.airliners.net/open.file?id=1286...&photo_nr=6

I'm calling BS and dropping the PhotoShop gaunlet on this one.

I've been fast in a Hornet before, but never to the point that I've warped the Time-Space Continuum! ;)

JMHO,

Tank

Some of you need to get out more, how can you call this fake? The shockwaves are a common sight on the #5 sneak pass... here is my "almost perfect" shot from the earlier season. Sometimes you gotta have luck on your side... this time it was not to be. <_< You can even see the same boats in the background of my photo and Joerg's.