WHAT PUTTY IS BEST?

Hey all.. I have been using MM Red Putty for about 3 years and am fairly satisified with the results but with the market always changing, is there anything else out there which you might suggest as better? :D

Hey Sky, believe it or not, I have been using an auto product for decades now, with no ill side effects to me or the kits. It's called " Spot Glazing Filler" I got mine at Auto Zone and it comes in a giant tube. It doesn't shrink and sands easily. Seems like it was in the $6 range, cheaper than buying the same amount in little tubes. Not the last word in puttys, but works for me. Happy modeling! monketdance4.gif

Gunze Sangyo Mr. Surfacer 500. Absolutely the best stuff out there, hands down. Couldn't build without it. I think I've used "traditional" putties all of once since switching to Gunze. For spanning larger gaps, I also use CA occasionally - depends on the situation.

MM Red putty IS the same as Bondo spot putty. RPM owns both Testors and Bondo. It's just a lot cheaper in an auto parts store. (Just like sanding sticks are cheaper in the Wal-mart cosmetics dept.)

Personally, I like using typing correction fluid. It's thin and flows easily into little seam lines. Overflow can be wiped off to minimize sanding.

Gap filling superglue is great for filling areas that need strength like wing roots, but I've found it can be difficult to work with since it becomes harder than the surrounding plastic in a few minutes.

I'd love to try Mr. Surfacer, but Gunze products are "Mr. Invisible" around here.

Put me there beside Justin. Tamiya putty, so far, has proven to be the best in the end. It's more difficult to use but you can get much better results.

Larry S.

Hi there:

I like Tamiya putty and Squadron White Putty. Never had any problems with either of them. They both sand easily, cover well, and dry reasonably fast, although not as fast as super glue of course. :D

Kind Regards,

Don ;)