Why you guys attaching the landing gear legs

Hi there :stupid:

I've seen on many photos that some of the modelers are glueing the landing gears into place before the paint job. Why is it? I never did it, as I'm afraid it can broke easily while handling for airbrushing and weathering. Also cannot easily reach it to paint the details. So what's the secret?

Greetings, neu :thumbsup:

Ditto, always do the main paint job, then paint main sections of landing gear and other details, glue together, then finally touch up afterwards.

Only time I can remember doing it the other way round is where the landing gear is faired into the fuselage (i.e. westland lysander)

I am a brush painter and have always attached the undercarriage legs (not the wheels) prior to painting. It makes it easier to align things - no finger marks in the paint. And the legs provide a handle while I am working. LAstly, it's also easier to set the model on its legs while the paint dries.

Edited by Bob Perry

I will sometimes do this, but not actually glue them in place. If the fit is a little on the loose side, a drop of white glue will hold them.

Just for convenience really, especially during decal process. Keeps the plane from resting on its belly or having the wings resting on paint tins.

I wonder why the "large" arrestor hook(s) are sticking out it's @$$? :cheers: :lol: :unsure:

But seriously, Black Cat, Great LOOKING Phantom. Almost makes me forget it's a Jolly Rogers 'Phantom... :thumbsup: ::sniff:: just B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L.

In answer to the thread question which we seem to have wandered off. My NEW policy as a more "advanced" modeller than I was when I was but a snotty nosed teen-ager, is to paint the landing gear first, then attach it to the PAINTED aircraft, but before weathering the landing gear and the rest of the aircraft.